Windows Live Writer Tech Preview now available

29May08

Windows Live Writer screenshotGood news for those of you hungry for new Writer bits: Windows Live Writer Technical Preview is now available for download.

Official announcement: Windows Live Writer Technical Preview

And for developers: Windows Live Writer Technical Preview SDK

We’re calling this a Technical Preview release because the primary reason for it is to gather feedback on some enhancements to the SDK we’ve made. (The Tech Preview is available in English only, but don’t worry, the other languages will be back later in the release cycle.)

That said, there are a bunch of nice features and significant bug fixes thrown in. You can read about the new features on the official blog post, and as far as bug fixes, here are just a few of my favorites:

  • WYSIWYG editor no longer munges <object>, <embed>, or (most) <script> elements
  • WYSIWYG editor now uses literals instead of escape sequences for most characters (apparently this was causing a lot of pain for some European language bloggers)
  • Dragging and dropping one image thumbnail on top of another image thumbnail no longer causes them to show the same image when clicked
  • More reliable configuration for Blogger users

And here’s one lowlight:

  • Switching between Normal and Web Layout mode got more confusing for existing users. Both modes are represented by the Edit tab; you can toggle between them using View | Edit Using Theme.

Please try it out and let us know what you think, preferably at our new Beta forum. Thanks!



8 Responses to “Windows Live Writer Tech Preview now available”

  1. 1 Spike Washburn

    Woo hoo! Congrats to the Writer team! I love that publish hooks finally made it into the SDK. And I know Bonnie is ecstatic to finally get image cropping in there. I hope it managed yet another release without a font-size button😉

    …boo, hiss!!

  2. Congrats Joe! I like the new features. The tabs are nice.
    Tell the others I sent along a congrats and that I said hello.

  3. great release! I love it!

  4. 4 Kirk M

    Hi Joe,

    Glad you’re working on a new version. I did try it out but unfortunately I had nothing but problems with it from the menu bar items frequently disappearing and reappearing to content (text) doing the same thing. I uninstalled the current version before installing the tech preview by habit as usual. It also crashed often so I’m not sure what happened to make it so unstable. Obviously others are not experiencing the same problems.

    Running:

    Windows XP Pro SP3 (all .Net Frameworks installed up to 3.5).

  5. Kirk–feel free to send me your log file, Help | About | Show log file, joe.cheng *AT* microsoft.com. Thanks!

  6. Will do Joe. I’ll send it today.

  7. Hey Joe,

    I finally managed to send that log. Sorry for the delay, things got a bit crazy all of a sudden. You should have the email by now.

  8. 8 progledaj1

    I like the new features.



