Blog This for Firefox 3.0

15Apr08

image

Update 7/30/2008: Added more steps to the instructions to get Firefox to re-read install.rdf.

Since the first release of Windows Live Writer, we’ve had a Blog This add-on for Firefox. Currently it’s marked as compatible with Firefox 1.5-2.0, which means beta versions of Firefox 3 won’t load it. Turns out it works fine with Firefox 3 as well, if you mark it as such:

  1. Start Notepad
  2. Open this file:
    C:\Program Files\Windows Live\Writer\BlogThis\Mozilla Firefox\install.rdf
  3. Change the line
    <em:maxVersion>2.0+</em:maxVersion>
    to
    <em:maxVersion>3.0+</em:maxVersion>
  4. Rename install.rdf to install.rdf.gone
  5. Exit Firefox, if it’s running
  6. Start Firefox
  7. Exit Firefox
  8. Rename install.rdf.gone back to install.rdf
  9. Start Firefox

(Steps 4-9 are necessary to get Firefox to pick up the changes in install.rdf.)

When we get the chance, we’ll update the add-on so this isn’t necessary.

If you encounter any problems using Blog This with Firefox 3, please let me know in the comments.



25 Responses to “Blog This for Firefox 3.0”

  1. Good to know! Especially I’m addicted to the bugger.

  2. Hi Joe,

    I used the “Nightly Tester Tools” to make it compatible with the Firefox 3 nightly builds and it’s been working just fine since I began testing the late “Gran Paradiso” Alpha builds. Makes things a lot easier all around.

    One thing I did notice is it doesn’t come with an uninstaller of any kind. Since the extension is not installed the normal way a regular Firefox extension is and is not located within the Firefox “Profile” folder as other extensions are, what would be the proper way to uninstall “Blog This” if someone chose to?

    Aren’t you glad I found your blog? Now I can bug you here as well.😀

    Nice to see you using WordPress. Have you upgraded to 2.5 yet?

  3. Oh. I missed the WordPress.com in the URL. Never mind the 2.5 then. Have a great evening.

  4. Kirk, in your Add/Remove Programs there should be an entry for “Windows Live Writer Blog This for Mozilla Firefox”.

    We’re investigating distributing this as a normal .xpi in the future. It was really due to constraints on the Windows Live Gallery website that made us distribute it as an .msi in the first place.

  5. Thanks so much for posting on this. Somehow I missed the post, but Brandon T caught a comment of mine and pointed me to the fix.

    I love FF 3 (a worthy competitor to IE 7), but I was faced with a regression to FF 2 if I couldn’t get the WLW extension working.

    I’m grateful, if a bit puzzled, that you guys keep supporting FF.

    WLW continues to astound, though I would be even a smidgen happier if the tag/category string truncation bug would go away.

    Also, I love discovering I can save my preferred image settings as default, but you can’t save “use original” as a default — if you try you end up saving the pixel ratio of the “reference image” rather than the concept of “original size”.

  6. John–good news, the tag/category string trunc bug should be banished with the next release.

    What’s puzzling about us supporting Firefox? It’s what our users want!🙂

    I’m not sure I follow regarding “Use Original”… please e-mail me at joe.cheng *AT* microsoft.com with steps to repro the problem you’re seeing. Thanks!

  7. Hi Joe,

    Great news about the trunc bug!

    BTW, I just discovered while trying to implement the maxVersion fix that it’s possible to edit the blog post template. I knew there had to be a way to do that, but hadn’t tracked it down before. Great work, as always.

    I couldn’t get the maxVersion fix to work. My rdf file looks like (replace angle brackets in case they cause trouble in comments):
    [em:maxVersion]3.0+[/em:maxVersion]
    but FF still won’t allow the extension. I think FF3b5 isn’t rechecking the plug-in settings after initial inspection. I tried logging out and deleting the FF cache but I didn’t try rebooting. No biggie, I’ll use the profile hack to allow me to enable it.

    I’ll email you some screenshots that show what I mean about use original, but here’s a simple example you can reproduce easily:

    1. Insert image in post. Image is 400×500 pixel (example)
    2. Configure settings as desired. Set resolution setting to “use original”.
    3. Save settings as default.
    4. Insert another image in post. Image is 200×300 pixel (example).

    When you do step #4 you’ll see the a blank value in the image resolution setting, and on inspection you’ll find WLW is enlarging image #2 to the “original” resolution for image #1, which is 400×500.

    In other words, save settings saves the pixel size of image #1 rather than the “concept” of “don’t resize”.

  8. Joe, any updates on official support for FF3?

  9. Sorry John, we haven’t gotten around to it yet. We are in the middle of heavy feature development right now and nobody has had the spare cycles to update and test the plugin. I will make sure it stays on the radar though.

  10. Yeah, I can’t get the workaround to work either with FF3.

    Since you need spare time to work on it and don’t have any, how about releasing the code to Codeplex? I REALLY need Blog This and (no offense) I hate IE.

  11. 11 TotalBalance

    For those having trouble getting the fix to work (FF not re-initializing plug-in with changed setting), here’s how I got it to function:
    1) Remove the extension (Windows Live Writer Blog This for Firefox) from Add/Remove console.
    2) Open FF and confirm extension is removed. Leave FF running.
    3) Re-install FFBlogThis.msi
    4) Follow directions above to change install.rdf line
    5) Close down FF and restart.
    6) Extension should now be working (icon showing on top right)

  12. 12 Karsten

    Almost there: had to add the button via toolbar customization manually!

  13. The fix does not work for me. I’ve been without this for too long.

    Is it really that hard for the LW team to just issue a fix?

    Doing LW the long way is boring!!!🙂

  14. 14 Keath

    These instructions don’t work. I’ve followed them several times precisely. Firefox still comes up and says the add-on is incompatible.

  15. 15 Keath

    OK, it will work if you add the extensions.checkCompatibility = false boolean value in about:config per this post:

    http://tech.kateva.org/2008/05/make-firefox-3-beta-accept-windows-live.html

    You don’t need to add the security setting and despite what this post says, I haven’t had any issues with this.

    The Blog This add-on will still show up in the list as incompatible but it will work.

  16. For those that couldn’t get these instructions to work–note that I added some more steps. Sorry for any inconvenience.

  17. 17 Pete Wilson

    Thanks for the fix, I began to get nervous when this plugin didn’t work after the upgrade. Great Work!

  18. Joe,

    Do you guys have any date that there will be an officially updated version of the plug-in?

  19. 20 awakening2

    if i use a portable live writer, how to specify live writer’s path? thaks.


  1. 1 Blog This for Firefox 3.0 | Naughty Spawn
  2. 2 BlogThis Addon unter Firefox 3.0 nutzen » Brandt Aktuell
  3. 3 Supples’ Pub » Blog Archive » Windows Live Writer revisited
  4. 4 Firefox 3.0-compatible Blog This add-on « whateverblog.
  5. 5 Windows Live Writer BlogThis Plugin For Firefox | TECH YARD

