Write a Windows Live Writer plugin using C#

16Aug06

(via ScottGu)

Keyvan gives a nice intro to writing plugins in C#. (I still recommend reading the official docs before you set off building your own, though!)

Today Jayson and I were chatting about lack of Currently Playing song functionality in Live Writer (it’s one of cool features in BlogMl and W.Bloggar) and decided to have a competition to write its plugin for Live Writer ourselves.  I started working on Windows Media Player plugin and he worked on Winamp.  He could finish his job and posted about it here.  But I couldn’t finish writing that plugin because my Windows Media Player has some problems and I couldn’t get its ActiveX reference (AxWMPLib) to work.

However I didn’t want to sleep without writing a plugin and tried to write a more useful plugin to add Technorati tags to blog posts.  Here I write about the process I followed to let others start coding for Live Writer.  I created a workspace on CodePlex to write plugins for fun and share them with others.

Source: Keyvan Nayyeri : Write a Windows Live Writer plugin using C#



3 Responses to “Write a Windows Live Writer plugin using C#”

  1. Hi

    I did wrote a Windows Media Player Currently Playing plugin for Live Writer. You might read more here http://weblogs.asp.net/lkempe/archive/2006/08/16/Windows-Media-Player-Currently-Playing-Plugin-for-Windows-Live-Writer.aspx. And it is also available on Codeplex in the Windows Live Writer Plugins : http://www.codeplex.com/Wiki/View.aspx?ProjectName=WLWPlugins

    Regards
    Laurent Kempé

  2. What I want to do on my blog, is every few hours take the oldest post and move it to the
    front of the queue, all automatically. Anyone know if there is a plugin that can do this or
    a simple way to set up another plugin to do this (use my own feed perhaps)?
    Thanks.



