Windows Live Writer Released

13Aug06

I slept in this morning and woke up to find that the product we’ve been working on, Windows Live Writer, was revealed a day early due to word leaking out about it. The blogosphere is starting to talk about it but at this writing it’s still early yet.

We had this project simmering on a back burner for a long time at Onfolio, as we were really excited about it but couldn’t convince ourselves there was a business plan for it. I’m so glad Microsoft saw potential in Writer–it would be a real shame if WYSIWYG* blog editing had never seen the light of day.

I’d like to give a quick tip of the hat to Tim Heuer, a Microsoft employee who blogged about us today. As soon as Tim received the internal build of Writer, he started reverse engineering our plugin API (before we had finished writing the documentation for it) and whipped out a Flickr plugin the very next day. He’s also provided us with a lot of great feedback throughout the dogfooding process and I think our product is a lot better for it. Of course there were many other dogfooders who gave us great feedback (thank you all!) and even several who also wrote cool plugins, but Tim was there first and banged on our door loudest. So, thanks Tim!

 

* Maybe we need to come up with a different way to say WYSIWYG, to reflect the fact that we take the styles from your blog–maybe “styled WYSIWYG”? Ugh, that’s just terrible…



26 Responses to “Windows Live Writer Released”

  1. 1 sebastian

    hi joe!

    you asked me to look why the image doesn’t show up and send you an e-mail if I think it’s a bug at Writer.

    well, I actually think it’s a bug at Writer, probably with the update functionality.
    the image worked initially, I then updated the post twice or so by re-publishing it. I’m sure that it worked after the first re-publishing, because that first time was because the image didn’t work as expected.
    at the last re-publishing, there must have been a problem, because obviously it didn’t update correctly.

    I did now again re-publish it and it works again. I didn’t change anything in Writer.

    I hope I helped.😉

  2. 2 sebastian

    damned, I didn’t check my e-mails – your e-mail was included there.

    I will send you a better bug-report.

  3. Hi Sebastian, an Onfolio party here hey.

  4. It worked. First shot. What a great tool.

  5. Oh.. those wasted LOCs :C

    Sorry guys, maybe, after 100s of plugins, and 20 more versions I’ll start to see the point of this off-line-online blogging thingie.

  6. That’s fine. If you’re happy using web forms or TinyMCE to edit your posts, hey, more power to you. Plenty of other people are looking for something faster and easier, and we’ll content ourselves with trying to make them happy.

  7. Good… the war is began😉

  8. Please fix your proxy support in Windows Live Writer. I come across this problem very often with products that run fine at home but badly on corporate-style networks. In this case there is an Microsoft ISA proxy server in place and I can’t configure the proxy setting to work correctly.

  9. Brian, we’re looking into this. In the meantime, we have a similar setup here at Microsoft and if you install ISA Client then Writer (and all other apps) can work correctly. Not sure if the same applies in your corporate network but if it does and you are able to do it, it might be worth a shot. NOTE: I am not an ISA Server expert, proceed at your own risk.

  10. Thanks for your reply Joe. The ISA client is not installed on any machines at this location. In fact, ISA is probably only one of many servers that an HTTP request passes through at work (big enterprise, 64k people, healthcare so security is a major thing).

    Lutz Roeder at Microsoft added proxy support to his popular .NET reflector tool (http://www.aisto.com/roeder/dotnet/). Not sure how he added this, but it works very well here🙂 It picks up the IE proxy settings and uses correct Windows authentication etc.

  11. Thanks for the tip, Brian! I’m sure Lutz can help us save a lot of investigation time.

  12. 12 brentrockwood

    I am very curious to learn if you folks have a good reason to have your own proxy settings, rather than using the system (IE) proxy settings. I notice Live Messenger does this as well, but I can’t think of any good reason for it. It’s exceedingly easy to use the system proxy from managed code, and to use CredUI to prompt for credentials if necessary.

  13. Brent, I’ll leave a reply on your blog post.

  14. Nevermind Brent, I see that Spike has responded already.🙂

  15. 15 Pink nguyen

    TO JoeCheng : Are you real Joe Cheng ? Or Joe Cheng’s fan ?

  16. Joe, I need some help cause I am about to throw my computer out the window…i am a WordPress for Dummie’s member…so two days ago I got a fix from someone at WP Beginner for the facebook thumbnail..but around the same time ( and I hope it is just a co-incidence because it is a completely different plug-in) , I wrote a blog post on WLWriter and placed my pics etc on Windows Live Writer, like I have always been doing when BAM – I sent it to be published in my WordPress and upon viewing it…the post had all these codes and no pictures…in fact it was a mess. I had no good working copy of the original post because when I tried to view it back in Windows Live Writer it brought back the published post with all its errors.

    After much searching I came up without a clue to why all of a sudden WLWriter was doing this…until I came to a thought, through Google Search, that perhaps it has to do with WordPress and my XML Sitemap…I think.

    If I gave u my info can u tell me, or more can u actually FIX my problem? I don’t mind paying or ‘donating’ provided that estimate is not a gazillion dollars…all used to be fine…until I tried to fix Facebook on my own…but I didn’t go any where near the XML sitemap in fact I don’t even know what it is or who originally input the info except maybe my husband…

  17. Natalie, I’m sorry but I really am not familiar with XML Sitemap or the Facebook thumbnail stuff you’re talking about. Moreover I have not been with Microsoft or the Windows Live Writer team for a couple of years now so I can’t really help on that side either.

    My suggestion would be to ask on the WordPress support forums unless you really think the answer is going to come from the WLW side, in which case you can start with Aaron Bregel at http://livewriterblog.wordpress.com.

    Best of luck!


  1. 1 Photo Matt » Live Writer Developer
  2. 2 Windows Live Writer Review by Elliott Back
  3. 3 Matt Augustine Tech Blog » Blog Archive » Live Clipboard in Windows Live Writer
  4. 4 Re.Mark » Live Writer
  5. 5 Poldo's Procrastination
  6. 6 Thoughts, Raves and Outright Beatings… » Yet another blogging client, yet one surprisingly late to the party…
  7. 7 NhanTran » Blog Archive » Windows Live Writer Review
  8. 8 Matt: Live Writer Developer at SocialCode
  9. 9 Can Live » Blog Archive » Microsoft WYSIWYG Blog Editor: How do I Delete Temporary Post Used For Style Detection ?

