Moving On

08Sep09

Audi 5000

For the last three and a half years, it’s been my distinct pleasure to be part of the Windows Live Writer team. It’s been deeply satisfying to help ship this simple yet sophisticated program that has put a smile on so many bloggers’ faces. From our first public beta, we’ve had nothing but love from the blogging community, and I can’t tell you how awesome that feels.

So it’s with decidedly mixed emotions that I’m moving on from Microsoft and Windows Live Writer. My last day is this Friday, 9/11/2009.

Thank you to all the colleagues, partners, and especially users who have made the last few years so exciting and rewarding. It’s been an amazing experience for me, and I’ll always be proud of what we accomplished.

Next for me will be another stint working for JJ Allaire. I’ll be working from home, which will be something new for me. No details to share about the project for a while, except to say that it will be something totally different (nothing to do with blogging, sorry).

16 Responses to “Moving On”

  1. Thank you for your work on Windows Live Writer. It’s been great getting feedback from you (and your team) on making sure WordPress played nice with WLW.

    Good luck with the new job!

  2. I hope you’ll do a bit more writing now that you’re covering new terrain.

    I appreciate your work every time I use WLW — which is pretty often. Whatever Microsoft does with WLW going forward it’s the measure of all web authoring tools on any platform.

    Oh, and how about buying a Mac too :-). Maybe you’ll like it.

  3. Good luck man! WLW is quite possibly my favorite Windows application. It’s the one app I’ve heard many of my Mac friends say, “Yeah, that’s the only reason I occasionally use Windows”. ;)

    You and your team should feel proud as it’s a great product. I hope it continues to grow without you there, though I’m sure you’ll be missed.

  4. Good luck man, I think that after JJ left you seem to have picked up the reins brilliantly. Best of luck in your new venture, and don’t stop blogging!

  5. @Joseph: It has been a dream working with you–you fix bugs and get them deployed on WP.com faster than we take to triage our bugs! Hope you continue to have a great relationship with the Writer team for years to come.

    @John: We actually have a few Macs in our household already… and my new home office is stocked with some of the finest hardware Apple has to offer :)

    Thanks for the kind words, Phil and Dave!

  6. Great to hear about the Macs in your home. I can dream that you’ll do a Mac or iPhone app next.

    I’m one of the people Haacked mentions — those who fire up Fusion/Windows just to run WLW. (Though I also use WLW with Sharepoint in the office).

    Looking forward to more posts and updates on your blog.

  7. 7 sweatertest

    Congratulations, Joe. You’ve had a great run working on WLW and I look forward to seeing what you do next.

  8. Oops – didn’t mean to leave that last comment with my test WordPress account ;)

  9. You’ll be missed but you leave a fantastic and super helpful product behind. I hope Microsoft continues to pour resources into this little gem of a product. Much luck on your new endeavor.

  10. Joe I wish you well in your new endevour and hope that without you Writer continues to evolve in the wonderful way that it has up until now. You know how much I shout about writer I love it and I for one would not post to any blog without it.
    Sad to see you go Jo.

    TG

  11. Live Writer is very great! Thanks Joe! You’re doing a very great job.

    Actually, working from home would be a very nice experience. Enjoy it!

    BTW, if your job has nothing to do with blogging, your blogging experience might be somehow more funny and relax.

  12. 12 Carolyn

    hey Joe!

    Thanks for all your help – I will miss working with you! I wish you all the best!

    CA

  13. 13 theflash

    Good Luck for all!
    Also wish the Live writer project will be still active.
    The writer is great~
    Thank you~

  14. Thank you for your work. I use it daily and appreciate it when I do.

    Cheers to you, sir!

  15. Hi. Thanks for all your help, good luck with the new job!


  1. 1 Microsoft MVP Hattrick

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

