WLW+AtomPub: Introduction

15Oct07

I’m starting a (hopefully short) series of blog posts documenting the specifics of how the upcoming AtomPub-enabled release of Windows Live Writer will behave, and what AtomPub-enabled blog* servers can do to ensure the best interop with us. I also hope other blog client implementers can learn from our experience and consider using the same rules and behaviors we do when implementing their own AtomPub support.

I’m not sure yet what exact topics will be covered, but they should at least include autodiscovery, authentication, image uploads, and categories. If there are any other specific topics you are wondering about, please don’t be shy–leave me a comment!

*Please keep in mind that, in its upcoming incarnation, Windows Live Writer is blogging client that happens to speak AtomPub; it is not a general purpose AtomPub client. AtomPub servers that aren’t about blogging (such as photo sharing, classifieds, or whatever) will probably not get a lot of mileage out of Writer.

8 Responses to “WLW+AtomPub: Introduction”

  1. Thanks for documenting your efforts in this area, Joe. I am also hoping to bring MarsEdit into the “general purpose AtomPub blogging client” camp soon, and your trailblazing will be helpful to myself and others.

  2. Joe. Thanks for posting all of this information about AtomPub and WLW. I’ve written an implementation of Atom and AtomPub for my site, and it’s working with WLW for the most part. Two things I’m having trouble with though.

    The first is themes. I can’t figure out how to get WLW to download my theme. In fact, I’m not even sure what it’s supposed to be downloading (CSS information?). WLW successfully creates and deletes a blog post, but I still get an error: “The theme used for editing you blog posts could not be downloaded.”

    The second is auto-discovery. I’ve added the service link to the master page of my site, and the link successfully points to the service document, but WLW gives me an error: “Invalid URI: The format of the URI could not be determined.”

    Thanks.

    PS: I would have used the support forum, but the link isn’t working. (http://groups.msn.com/windowslivewriter/)

    • I fixed the theme problem. The titles of my posts were being truncated to 50 characters due to the database configuration. WLW wasn’t able to recognize the huge title it used as a test post and threw an error.

      I’m still trying to figure out the auto-discovery issue though.


  1. 1 Finally Final! « whateverblog.
  2. 2 about:cmlenz - Notes on Writing a Blog Tool from Scratch
  3. 3 StudentGuru :: Ανακοινώσεις για Windows Live
  4. 4 How Do I add support for Windows Live Writer for the server I am writing? « Aaron's Live Writer Blog
  5. 5 Posting to blog with .NET – Part 2 « Behind Simplicity

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

